Soooooocks!

Standard
Soooooocks!

You may have noticed my header, which proclaims that I not only sing, but also knit and cook and travel… well so far you’ve seen singing and travel, but none of the other two. Until TODAY that is! πŸ˜€

As soon as the weather starts to turn cool, my fingers start to itch and I find myself easily distracted by passing sweaters or the feel of a fine skein of merino. I start trolling through Ravelry looking for patterns, and making mental checklists of friends and family with babies who I can knit adorable tiny things for. Cold weather is knitting weather, that’s all there is to it.

That’s not to say that I don’t knit in the summer. You might remember such summer knitscapades as Who Wants This Scarf?. But there are some very practical reasons why knitting makes more sense in the colder months. Blankets, for instance, are great to knit in winter, because as they grow they drape over your lap in a very pleasing and cozy way. This is less of a benefit when it’s 95 degrees and a million percent humidity out. One of the projects that seems to whisper my name in an especially alluring way is socks. They’re fun and cute and people love to get them from you. Sadly, they are also prone to Second Sock Syndrome–sufferers find themselves bored and unmotivated to repeat the work they just completed on Sock #1. Like this poor, sad, as yet unfinished sock:

Poor sock. I broke a needle, and they were relegated to UFO status (unfinished object).

The solution? Worsted weight socks!

Normal sock yarn is very thin, and thus it takes quite a lot of stitches to make a sock. Worsted weight yarn is thicker, and knits up a heck of a lot faster, making the whole project fairly fly off the needles. Lovely! My first sock-recipient of the season was my darling husband, who got his very own pair of hand-knit round-the-house socks.

Sock

Here modeled on my own foot. The picture he has of them on his own feet is awful, but hasn't yet been retaken.

In fact, these were off my needles less than 2 days ago, and I’m already working my way rapidly down the leg of a new one, same yarn but a different pattern, destined for the feet of a friend who’s been bugging me for a pair since I started knitting. Merry Christmas, unnamed friend. πŸ™‚

And, just to leave you all wishing you could come visit me, this is what I do when I have a day off:

Mmm...Get jealous.

A slightly lopsided yet delicious three-layer carrot cake with homemade icing. πŸ™‚

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

