Aside

See, it's such a popular question they wrote a book about it.

Something has been bugging me lately. And by lately, I of course mean for the last 3 years or more. I am Fach-less.

When I was younger, this didn’t bother me so much. (I should stop right here and say that yes, I KNOW I’m still quite young. I’m turning 29 a week from today, and I recognize that I am really only just barely a real-live adult in some people’s eyes. That being said, 29 for a singer is well into maturity for most voice types.) I thought that I need only be patient, and my classification would soon become clear. That…hasn’t really happened.

Now, the Mezzo bit IS quite clear, and has stayed consistent for the entirety of my voice study (but for a couple of outliers trying to convince me over the years that I’m a soprano waiting to happen…crazies). It’s the sub-classification that eludes me. I’m fairly certain that, unless I find that I’ve accidentally been singing everything in falsetto this whole time, that I’m NOT a dramatic. But I’ve had people very recently tell me that Verdi isn’t out of my reach, which is much closer to a full lyric/dramatic sound than I ever imagined I’d get. I’ve also been told that I am a lyric coloratura, something along the lines of a Joyce DiDonato or even Cecilia. I do have the flexibility for this kind of singing, but I also can sing with considerable weight when the occasion calls (and the range allows–I’m still in negotiations with my top these days, though I’m winning by half-steps). I’d love to be headed to Contralto-towne, but unless hormones drop my voice another 3rd when I get pregnant, it’s just not going to happen.

So what am I? I’ve sung everything from early music to Menotti, and everything in between. And I have no idea where I’m supposed to be. And the stupid question will just keep coming up, especially since I’m striking out into the audition scene this year in a big way. I need to figure out what I ought to be singing, and no one so far has been able to give me a definitive answer.

SO. In classic internet fashion, I will submit myself to the wisdom of the masses. Let’s take a vote! What, dear readers (all 3 or 4 of you), do you think my Fach is?

What the Fach?!

One response »

Leave a Reply

